MLB Changes Error To Hit For Ortiz vs. Darvish

May 14, 2014 7:10 PM
MLB Changes Error To Hit For Ortiz vs. Darvish
" BOSTON (AP/CBS) –Yu Darvish’s recent no-hit bid now officially ended in the seventh inning, not the ninth, and David Ortiz now has another hit to his name.

Major League Baseball has overturned a controversial scoring decision from Friday’s game between the Rangers and Red Sox. Acting on an appeal by the Boston slugger, MLB changed an error in the seventh to a single on Wednesday.

Darvish had retired the first 20 batters before Ortiz hit a popup that was ruled an error even though it wasn’t touched.

The popup dropped between Texas rookie second baseman Rougned Odor and right fielder Alex Rios.┬áThe official scorer charged Rios with an error, citing MLB rules that a ball doesn’t have to be touched to be an error if a routine catch was possible.

Per Rule 10.12:

The official scorer shall charge an outfielder with an error if such outfielder allows a fly ball to drop to the ground if, in the official scorer’s judgment, at that position making ordinary effort would have caught such fly ball "

Click here to read the whole article

Google related News

Wednesday, May 14, 2014 by CBSSports

MLB changes error, gives Ortiz a hit following Darvish's near no-hitter

MLB announced on Wednesday that they have overturned the call, changing the error to a base hit. Darvish's one-hitter is now a two-hitter.

Read more
Wednesday, May 14, 2014 by WDIV Detroit

MLB changes error, gives Ortiz a hit

Major League Baseball has changed the official scorer's call and given David Ortiz a single on a controversial play that ended pitcher Yu 

Read more
Wednesday, May 14, 2014 by Tribune-Review

MLB notebook: League changes error to hit in Darvish's near-miss

Acting on an appeal by Boston slugger David Ortiz, MLB on Wednesday changed an error in the seventh to a single. Darvish retired the first 20 

Read more
Wednesday, May 14, 2014 by Middletown Press

MLB changes Ortiz's bloop off Darvish to a hit

Major League Baseball overturned a controversial scoring decision by Boston slugger David Ortiz, MLB changed an error in the seventh to a 

Read more